Documents & Analyses


- Surveys in China: by whom and for whom? 
One can assume opinion surveys in China are of capital importance for business strategists and political decision-makers. In the age of new technologies and the massive use of microblogging and smartphone apps, thinking the "power" hasn't updated its techniques would be a mistake.
In this analysis, we treat the issue with two main angles: the first, opinion surveys on politics and society, and the second, commercial opinion surveys (report in French).


- Market socialism 2.0 with Chinese characteristics 
Right before the 3rd Plenum, the government's "Projet 383" launched with much fanfare "Market socialism 2.0" with Chinese characteristics, intended to give the lead to the second term of this oxymoron.
This project sesems to be a concrete agenda for reform, and the main roadmap of the current government whose scope must not be underestimated.
Our experts have analyzed this project (report in French).


- 18th Communist Party of China Congress  
Between October 2012 and October 2013, the China Newsletter team offered a special area on its website dedicated to the 18th Communist Party of China Congress, which took place at the end of 2012.
Today, the team has the pleasure of presenting all the content of this area in this document.


- Conference report for SSF Asia / ANAJ-IHEDN event on October 4, 2012 
On October 4, 2012, in Paris, SSF Asia co-organized with the ANAJ-IHEDN a conference on the theme
« China: political succession and industrial challenges ».
Download the full report with the complete speeches of Jean-Paul Tchang, financial analyst and Editor in Chief of the China Newsletter, Jean-François Dufour (DCA Chine-Analyse), SSF partner, Laurent Malvezin, SSF Asia Director and Editor of the China Newsletter and Philippe Clerc (CCI France), expert advisor in economic intelligence.


- What reliable and significant information can reasonably be given about the new leaders of the 18th CPC Congress? 
The pursuit may seem artificial. If the new officials will lead Chinese policy, they only have limited room for action over the situation the country is facing. And they don't have many options. This analysis does not aim to to discern the strategic orientations of the new Chinese executive team in the light of of its renewal, but to identify some of the significant features of this transfer of power. For the moment, this document is only available in French. To request a translation into English, contact us.

Etudes & Documents


- Les sondages en chine par qui et pour qui ? 
Nous pouvons supposer que les sondages d'opinion en Chine sont d'une importance capitale tant pour les stratèges d’entreprises que les décideurs politiques. A l’heure des nouvelles technologies et de l’utilisation massive du microblogging et des applications pour smartphone, penser que le « pouvoir » ne s’est pas mis à la page serait une erreur.
Nous traiterons, dans cette note d'éclairage, la question sous deux angles principaux que sont celui des sondages d'opinion sur la politique et la société d'une part, et d'autre part les sondages commerciaux.


- Le socialisme de marché 2.0 aux caractéristiques chinoises 
A la veille du 3ème Plénum, le projet "383" du gouvernement a lancé en grande pompe la version 2.0 du "socialisme de marché" à la chinoise, censée donner le rôle principal au second terme de cet oxymore.
Ce projet se présente comme un agenda concret des réformes, et la feuille de route générale du présent gouvernement, dont la portée ne doit pas être sous estimée.
Nous vous proposons une note d'analyse sur ce projet.


- 18ème Congrès du Parti Communiste Chinois  
Entre octobre 2012 et octobre 2013, l'équipe Lettre de Chine vous a proposé un espace spécial sur son site dédié au 18ème Congrès du Parti Communiste Chinois, qui a eu lieu fin 2012.
L'équipe a le plaisir de vous rassembler dans ce document l'intégralité du contenu de cet espace dédié.


- Compte-rendu de la conférence SSF Asie / ANAJ-IHEDN du 4 octobre 2012 
Le 4 octobre 2012 à Paris, SSF Asie a co-organisé avec l'ANAJ-IHEDN une conférence autour du thème
« Chine : relève politique et enjeux industriels ».
Retrouvez ici le compte-rendu complet des interventions de Jean-Paul Tchang, financier et rédacteur en chef de la Lettre de Chine, Jean-François Dufour (DCA Chine-Analyse), partenaire de SSF, Laurent Malvezin, Directeur Asie de SSF et éditeur de la Lettre de Chine et Philippe Clerc (CCI France), conseiller expert en intelligence économique.


- Que peut-on dire de raisonnablement fiable et de significatif sur les dirigeants promus au 18ème Congrès du PCC ? 
L'exercice peut paraître factice. Si les nouveaux dirigeants conduiront la politique chinoise, ils n'ont qu'une possibilité d'action réduite sur la situation à laquelle le pays est confronté. Et n'ont pas beaucoup d'options devant eux. Cette analyse n'a donc pas l'ambition de discerner les orientations stratégiques du nouvel exécutif chinois à l'aune de son renouvellement mais de dégager quelques traits significatifs de cette passation de pouvoir.